Fort Lauderdale Theft & Shoplifting Lawyer
Theft and shoplifting crimes vary widely in terms of punishment. Shoplifting an item with little value, as a first time offender, can result in just a small fine if handled properly by an experienced criminal defense attorney. However, as the items that are stolen or shoplifted increase in value, the penalties do as well. Additionally, the court may seek the higher punishment if the defendant has a history of shoplifting, theft, or other criminal behaviour. This is where the skills and negotiating power of a successful defense attorney can become invaluable. When defending you, we aggressively pursue the lowest possible punishment for your given situation. While the court has minimum sentencing to hand out, it may likely be possible to change the mind or encourage the court to administer the lower end penalties so that you and your loved ones do not suffer unnecessarily in the years to come from the mistakes of your past. Call Fort Lauderdale theft & shoplifting lawyer Deric Zacca, P.A. at 954-450-4848 today so that we can begin addressing the details of your charges and decide upon the best course of action to either clear your name from all charges or work towards a fair compromise that sees you with the least severe punishment viable.
Theft Under Florida Law and the Minimum and Maximum Penalties Associated With Each Level
Florida state statute 812.014 lays out the definition of theft as a person who “knowingly obtains or uses, or endeavors to obtain or use the the property of another with intent to, either temporarily or permanently:”
- Deprive the other person of a right to the property or a benefit from the property; or
- Appropriate the property to his or her own use or to the use of any person not entitled to the use of the property.
With each degree in value of the item or items stolen, the punishment is also increased for both theft and shoplifting (termed retail theft). Below is an incomplete guideline that compares the value of the stolen property to the punishment for shoplifting. For a full, detailed list describing Florida’s laws in regards to theft, visit the the Florida State Senate’s website statute 812.015.
- Value of property is less than $100 – Second degree petit theft – Punishable by up to $500 and 60 days in Jail;
- Value of property is $100 or more but less than $300 (or if the value is $100 or less and the person has been convicted of any theft in the past) -First degree petit theft – Punishable by up to $1,000 and one year in Jail;
- Value of property is $300 or more but less than $20,000 – Third degree grand theft – Punishable by up to $5,000 and five years in prison; and
- Value of property is $100,000 or more – First degree grand theft – Punishable by up to $10,000 and 30 years in prison.
No matter the theft or shoplifting charges that you are faced with, you need an experienced Fort Lauderdale theft & shoplifting lawyer immediately. Call Deric Zacca, P.A. at 954-450-4848 as soon as possible for the greatest chances of success in your case.